BOOK REVIEW: Red Clay and Roses

rosies-book-review-team-1Summer is in full swing and what better way to relax after a sizzling day than with a book about the Deep South and family secrets and surprising discoveries. This is third in my series of book reviews; I hope that my recommendations inspire you to read these books. . . . .

“Red Clay and Roses” by S. K. Nicholls is an honest look into the joys and ruthless realities of life in the Deep South during the 1950s and 1960s. The novel predominantly delves straightforward into lust, rape, murder, criminal abortion, lies, adoption, denial, and love, and particularly how race and gender relations intermingled within those ruthless realities of life.

The author presents this story as roman à clef; that is, as a novel based on a real life overlapped with fiction. She skillfully wrote to give the reader an interesting, eyes-wide-open view into the foul side of human attitudes and behavior, mirrored with the sweeter side that life can bring. Not only does she present to the reader the ugliness of lust, rape, abortion, et al, she also lays out the misery of mental illness, financial chicanery, and the protracted goals for women’s rights and civil rights in general.

It is obvious that the author researched well, as not only were the historical events correct, but also were the everyday things of life: Hair styles, clothing, language, place names, popular singers, and product names, for example. She is meticulous in describing things, sometimes to the minute detail. The reader, if familiar with places in the South, will recognize such places as Rexall Drugs, Kay Bee Jewelers, the Chattahoochee River, and Merritt Pecan Company. Even the late Freddie Hubbard, an American jazz trumpeter, was spun into the story early on.

What also makes this novel real is the author’s expert use of medical terms and medicine in general. As she is in real life a registered nurse, her knowledge becomes an excellent asset to the descriptions of the characters’ experiences with hospitals and their nefarious involvements. She uses medical terms and medicine in such a way that the reader is at ease; the descriptions do not come across at all as dry nursing class lectures, but almost as a matter-of-fact professional descriptions that the reader accepts.

S. K. Nicholls writes with ease and clarity and gives the reader rich, full scenes to imagine with the simplest of words, such as in the telling of “ . . . my first kiss in the midst of the rain of swirling pink crabapple petals . . .” She proves that simplicity paints a masterpiece.

She also effortlessly shows the soul of a building where it “reeked of chemicals and pain.” With just those five words, the reader feels and smells the repulsion of what once existed in one room. Even the real, but imaginary, “fairy babies” with their stinging “insect-like tails” that Ms. Bea fears almost materialize within the novel’s pages.

The author is adept at using dialect to give her characters a real life to their voices. Though a different dialect than those utilized by Mark Twain and Charles W. Chestnut, S. K. Nicholls nonetheless hears dialect well. She also employs the use of early twentieth century and mid-century slang to a T. “Slap me some skin!” was my thought as her characters, particularly Moses, spoke easily with words and phrases common decades ago.

“The word from the bird” is this: S. K. Nicholls’ “Red Clay and Roses” is a well-written, factual fictional novel that will grasp the reader’s attention from start to finish. I would place it among other well-known historical fictional novels (such as, for example, those written in the vein of Anthony Trollope and Margaret Mitchell) to be used as, perhaps, required reading in both high school and college English and American history, and social studies courses.

I highly recommend this novel.

© Susan Marie Molloy and all works within. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and any works here on this site without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Advertisements

3 Comments on “BOOK REVIEW: Red Clay and Roses

  1. Thank you, Barb, for your kind compliment. Susan’s “Red Clay and Roses” is definitely at the top of my favorite books in that genre. 😄

    Like

  2. Thank you for your kind comments about my review. I really enjoyed the book and S. K. Nicholls is a fantastic writer. I hope you like her book, too! 😄

    Like

The Indecisive Beader

A blog about how I bead, with other random musings.

Central Florida Critter of the Day

A daily photo posting of Central Florida Fauna

Biff Sock Pow

Finding the humor in everyday life.

Eva Newermann

Art and Books

"Greatest Generation" Life Lessons

This is the story of an ordinary family, trying to live an ordinary life during an extraordinary time frame, and the lessons they learn through experience.

Pamela Allegretto Artist/Author

Original Art and Fiction Writing

Love Travelling

Travel diaries providing inspiration for planning the perfect trip

Create Space

Creating, living, learning.

Janaline's world journey

My Strange, Wonderful Experiences and Adventures as I Travel through the World

witness2fashion

Sharing the History of Everyday Fashions

Tom's Nature-up-close Photography and Mindfulness Blog

Mindfulness, Philosophy, Spirituality, Meditation, Awareness, Religion, Nature Photography

The Lonely Author

Hoping to inspire the world one word at a time.

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

The Austrian Dish

Welcome to Austrian Cuisine!

Preserving the Past

50 years of research about aviation by Clarence Simonsen

Forktrails

Indulgent escapes of the Banjaran Foodie

The Ink Owl

"If you don't turn your life into a story, you just become a part of someone else's story." -Terry Pratchett

Beans, Pen & Nirja

An amateur writer trying to make an impact through her words, just to feel the beauty of life and love. Cherishing the beauty of Hope 💞 I am a banker by profession but I love to write everything that comes to my heart and mind. I am actually hopeless but yet I try to find hope in every aspects of life. I believe life has stored better things for me, so just while keeping wait, I prefer to write 💕 Its about my feelings expressed in words as I am so introvert to express in front of people. It's my diary and pen that understands me better. I love to write and hope other people will also like my write ups. Thank you so much for stopping by and having a look at my blog, Keep reading and suggesting. Love, nirja

FiveFeetAndOneInch

Just a blog about a short girl in her twenties

The Gardenia Cottage

Daily Life at The Gardenia Cottage

Dining with Donald

Donald on dining in and out

The People of Pancho

At Play In The Archive

JANE STURGEON

From the banks of The Mersey......

World Hangover

Bad decisions make good stories.

Empowered

Everyday

IMPREINT journal

The official bulletin of the artist IMPREINT created to repost excerpts from 'En plein air'.

The Violet Basket Diary

Entries from the Violet Basket Cottage Diary

The Gardenia Diary

Thoughts on Life Written from The Gardenia Cottage

Jemverse

Life in words

spanishwoods

thoughts from the forest

Friendly Fairy Tales

Fairy Tales and Poetry Celebrating Magic and Nature for Kids of all Ages

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Book 'Em, Jan O

Ghosts, Tall Tales & Witty Haiku!

When Timber Makes One Still

"Everyone needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in, where nature may heal and give strength to the soul" -John Muir

barrywax

Short Stories by Barry Wax

Online Home of Susan Feathers

Writers live twice. ~ Natalie Goldberg

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humor and courgettes

Pre-Code.Com

Celebrating Pre-Code Hollywood Cinema, 1930 - 1934

yadadarcyyada

Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure

The Vintage Traveler

Fuzzylizzie's Fashion & Travel: Vintage Style

A Hundred Years Ago

Food and More

Comet Over Hollywood

Home for classic movie lovers

The Indecisive Beader

A blog about how I bead, with other random musings.

Central Florida Critter of the Day

A daily photo posting of Central Florida Fauna

Biff Sock Pow

Finding the humor in everyday life.

Eva Newermann

Art and Books

"Greatest Generation" Life Lessons

This is the story of an ordinary family, trying to live an ordinary life during an extraordinary time frame, and the lessons they learn through experience.

Pamela Allegretto Artist/Author

Original Art and Fiction Writing

Love Travelling

Travel diaries providing inspiration for planning the perfect trip

Create Space

Creating, living, learning.

Janaline's world journey

My Strange, Wonderful Experiences and Adventures as I Travel through the World

witness2fashion

Sharing the History of Everyday Fashions

Tom's Nature-up-close Photography and Mindfulness Blog

Mindfulness, Philosophy, Spirituality, Meditation, Awareness, Religion, Nature Photography

The Lonely Author

Hoping to inspire the world one word at a time.

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

The Austrian Dish

Welcome to Austrian Cuisine!

Preserving the Past

50 years of research about aviation by Clarence Simonsen

Forktrails

Indulgent escapes of the Banjaran Foodie

The Ink Owl

"If you don't turn your life into a story, you just become a part of someone else's story." -Terry Pratchett

Beans, Pen & Nirja

An amateur writer trying to make an impact through her words, just to feel the beauty of life and love. Cherishing the beauty of Hope 💞 I am a banker by profession but I love to write everything that comes to my heart and mind. I am actually hopeless but yet I try to find hope in every aspects of life. I believe life has stored better things for me, so just while keeping wait, I prefer to write 💕 Its about my feelings expressed in words as I am so introvert to express in front of people. It's my diary and pen that understands me better. I love to write and hope other people will also like my write ups. Thank you so much for stopping by and having a look at my blog, Keep reading and suggesting. Love, nirja

FiveFeetAndOneInch

Just a blog about a short girl in her twenties

The Gardenia Cottage

Daily Life at The Gardenia Cottage

Dining with Donald

Donald on dining in and out

The People of Pancho

At Play In The Archive

JANE STURGEON

From the banks of The Mersey......

World Hangover

Bad decisions make good stories.

Empowered

Everyday

IMPREINT journal

The official bulletin of the artist IMPREINT created to repost excerpts from 'En plein air'.

The Violet Basket Diary

Entries from the Violet Basket Cottage Diary

The Gardenia Diary

Thoughts on Life Written from The Gardenia Cottage

Jemverse

Life in words

spanishwoods

thoughts from the forest

Friendly Fairy Tales

Fairy Tales and Poetry Celebrating Magic and Nature for Kids of all Ages

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Book 'Em, Jan O

Ghosts, Tall Tales & Witty Haiku!

When Timber Makes One Still

"Everyone needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in, where nature may heal and give strength to the soul" -John Muir

barrywax

Short Stories by Barry Wax

Online Home of Susan Feathers

Writers live twice. ~ Natalie Goldberg

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humor and courgettes

Pre-Code.Com

Celebrating Pre-Code Hollywood Cinema, 1930 - 1934

yadadarcyyada

Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure

The Vintage Traveler

Fuzzylizzie's Fashion & Travel: Vintage Style

A Hundred Years Ago

Food and More

Comet Over Hollywood

Home for classic movie lovers